My Sister Lived With a Murderer

Not everyone was lucky enough to dodge his bullet

Kristi Keller
4 min readSep 4, 2021
Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

Have you ever sat down to watch the six o’clock news only to be shocked that the headline story horrifically involves someone you know?

Oddly, this has happened to me not just once, but several times. And each occurrence was a jaw-dropping moment.

One might think that hearing the story about the murder of a man I hung out with decades ago would rattle my chains a little. In fact, it rattled me a lot but he was without question, the type of person that bad karma would be on a first-name basis with.

However, no dinnertime news story shocked me more than seeing a man my sister dated and lived with had committed murder. Even more ghastly — it happened in my own neighborhood. I had no idea he had lived so nearby.

I’ll keep his real name out of it in case he makes parole one day and decides to Google himself. Let’s call him Marc but if you want the real deets you can click on the newspaper link further down.

My sister was the type of resentful teenager who blamed my mom for all her problems growing up. She would pack up and move out every time she could find a man who would take her.

Marc was one of them.

--

--

Kristi Keller

Write like no one is reading, because it might be true. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story. https://wildhoodwanted.substack.com/